Bolts Can't Hold Late Lead at Blair, Lose to Big Train, 15-11

The Silver Spring-Takoma Thunderbolts held leads of 7-0 after two innings, and 11-5 after seven, but could not hold back the Bethesda Big Train, who scored nine runs in the eighth inning to defeat the T-Bolts at Blair Monday evening, 15-11.

Tyler Murray

Tyler Murray

The Thunderbolts jumped to a seven-run lead in the second inning on an inside-the-park grand slam by DH Tyler Murray (Sr, U of Hawaii) who had five RBIs in the game. Ian McMillan (So, U of Houston) had four RBIs, and Daulton Martin (Sr, Tusculum University) had two. Cade Swisher went 3-5; Murray went 3-5, McMillan went 3-5, and Luke Trainer went 2-4.

The Thunderbolts knocked out starter Nathan Schneider (Jr., St Marys College of Calif) and scored four runs off reliever Tyler Naumann (Jr, U of Jacksonville) who came in after two were out in the second inning and pitched through the eighth. Elliot Zoellner (Sr, U of Maryland) pitched the ninth for Bethesda.

But it would not be enough as the Big Train scored five runs in four innings against starter Yash Rane (Jr, Lehigh). and one run against reliever Rojo Prairie (So, William and Mary) in the fifth. By the top of the eighth, the Bolts led 11-5, after they added a pair of runs in both the fourth and fifth innings.

However, Bethesda scored nine runs in the eighth inning on nine hits—the highlight being a three-run home run by Kobe Kato (So, U of Arizona). The Train roared for four additional runs against Prairie and then for five runs against reliever Tyler Dyball (So, U of Hawaii).

The T-Bolts went quietly in the eighth and ninth and the Big Train improved to 5-1 against the T-Bolts. Tyler Naumann (3-0) picked up the win and Tyler Dyball (1-1) took the loss. The teams will meet two more times over the regular season.

Tomorrow, the Bolts are home to host the FCA Braves. The Bolts will send Luke Rettig (So, Lehigh) who is 1-2 on the year, against John Reynolds, Jr. (Jr, Randolph-Macon) who is 0-0. Game time is 7 pm, and broadcast time on the T-Bolts Radio Network is 6:55 pm. Neal Lavon and Nate Kresh are on the call.